The Future of Open Carry in Florida
Written by Moses & Rooth on October 28, 2015
The number of states with bans on open carry laws may go down. Florida may soon have an open carry law after the controversial bill cleared its first hurdle on Tuesday. The bill passed through the Florida House Criminal Justice Subcommittee by an eight to four vote. There are still a few more steps that will need to be taken before a person will be able to carry a gun in public, however. Opponents of the law are calling for the State to at least require enhanced training if a person plans on carrying a gun in public.
The Open Carry Law in Florida
The Open Carry Law in Florida would allow gun owners who do not have criminal records to walk around with exposed guns. If the Open-Carry law passes in Florida, this may mean that those with concealed carry permits will be able to openly carry firearms. However, the Florida Democrats want to make sure that there is a provision in the bill that will make it illegal for people with mental health problems to carry a gun and require people to know how to safely maintain and protect their weapons. The politics and public policy issues surrounding a new open carry law are tremendous. A bill of this nature has significant hurdles to make before becoming law; however it’s interesting to see legislation proposals moving forward.
Current Gun Law in Florida
As of right now, a person is able to purchase a gun without a permit in Florida. However, in order to carry a concealed weapon this same person must have a permit and cannot have a criminal record. The current open carry laws make it illegal for a person to carry a weapon or firearm that is not concealed.
It is currently legal for a person to carry a self-defense chemical spray or nonlethal stun gun or dart-firing stun gun. When a person violates the current open carry law in Florida, he or she can be charged with a misdemeanor in the second degree. The penalties include a fine of up to $500 and up to 60 days in jail. However, if a person improperly exhibits a firearm, they can face a misdemeanor in the first degree, which is punishable by up to a year in jail or 12 months probation, and a $1000 fine.
Gun Charges in Florida
If you have been charged with a gun-related offense in Florida, you can face prison time or be forced to pay a fine. It is essential that a person facing charges consults with an attorney. If you have any questions on the open carry or gun laws in Florida then you should contact our firm Moses and Rooth at 407-377-0150 for your free consultation today.