Juvenile Theft Charges

Juvenile theft and shoplifting charges can be brought as misdemeanor or felony offenses. Either one of these charges can result in serious consequences for a juvenile offender, including monetary fines and community service. If you are a juvenile who has been charged with theft, or if you are the parent of a juvenile who has been charged with theft, enlist the help of a defense attorney who will focus on helping obtain the appropriate rehabilitation program.

At Moses and Rooth Attorneys at Law, our Orlando juvenile theft lawyers defend clients throughout Central Florida. If you or your child has been charged with shoplifting or theft, you need to be aware that there are alternatives to the traditional court proceedings. We can talk to you about Teen Court, a diversionary program that is available to first-time nonviolent offenders.

Florida Shoplifting Charges

In Florida, shoplifting can be charged as a misdemeanor or felony offense. If the value of the stolen merchandise is $300 or less, it is a misdemeanor. If the value of the stolen merchandise is $300 or more, it is a felony. Most store owners take shoplifting very seriously and will press charges. Do not let one bad judgment call ruin your child’s future. If the child accumulates a juvenile record, he or she could become ineligible for scholarships, student loans and future employment opportunities.

Exploring All Options for Defense of a Minor

First-time nonviolent offenders can participate in Teen Court, a diversionary program in Orange County. Once the juvenile completes the program requirements — which can include community service and serving on the Teen Court jury — the charges against him or her will be dropped. Our attorneys look at all of the options available for ensuring the juvenile in question is rehabilitated rather than punished.